Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia in Athens /Newsroom /

Slovenia elected to IAEA Board of Governors for 2016–2018

Vienna, 29 September 2016 – At the 60th General Conference of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Slovenia was unanimously elected to its Board of Governors for the 2016–2018 term, with Ambassador Andrej Benedejčič acting as Governor.

A full member since 1992, Slovenia is set for its third term on the 35-strong Board of Governors, on which it also served between 1997 and 1999, and 2005 and 2007. The election is a testament of Slovenia's commitment to the Agency. One of 30 countries in the world with nuclear power plants, Slovenia remains a staunch supporter of the peaceful use of nuclear energy. As a member of the Board of Governors, it will focus on nuclear safety and security, technical cooperation, and the implementation of safeguards agreements concluded between the IAEA and its members pursuant to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons. The IAEA Board of Governors is a body that manages and directs the work of this international organisation between two General Conference sessions.

The International Atomic Energy Agency is an international organisation which was founded in 1957 on the decision of the UN General Assembly. According to the Statute, the IAEA's functions are as follows: to accelerate and enlarge the contribution of atomic energy to peace, health and prosperity around the world; to encourage and assist research on, and development and practical application of, atomic energy for peaceful uses throughout the world; to foster the exchange of scientific and technical information; to establish and administer safeguards over nuclear materials; and to establish or adopt standards of safety relating to the use of nuclear energy, including standards in the field of radiation protection.

The activities related to Slovenia's membership of the IAEA Board of Governors will involve the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Slovenian Nuclear Safety Administration and the Permanent Representation to the UN, OSCE and other international organisations in Vienna.